Roczen & Anstie Crowned FIM WSX Champions at Boost Mobile Australian GP

27 Nov, 2023
Riders & Teams
WSX Australian GP
WSX Racing

Share On

Copy to clipboard
The 2023 FIM World Supercross Championship has concluded at Marvel Stadium last night with a spectacular finale that saw Pipes Motorsport Group’s Ken Roczen go back-to-back securing the 2023 WSX World Championship, while Firepower Honda’s Max Anstie also emerged victorious in the 250 class, claiming the 2023 SX2 World Championship.
Wsx Tv Device Mockup 2
Wsx Ausgp Kenroczen 1200x686

After spectacular rounds in Birmingham and Abu Dhabi, Australia’s sporting capital Melbourne, delivered a bumper crowd for the grand final with close to 45,000 supercross fans turning out over the two day event.

VIEW: 2023 Championship Standings

The first of the SX2 final’s saw the Brit assert early dominance, navigating the set of challenging whoops to take control of the pack. Reigning SX2 champion, Shane McElrath’s night came undone when a tough block lodged in his rear wheel resulting in a DNF upsetting his title chances. Max Anstie surged forward securing the victory, with Luke Clout’s strong showing earning him a commendable second place while Motoconcept’s Carson Mumford rounded out the top three.

In final two, Max Anstie catapulted out of the gates, and didn’t look back claiming a decisive victory over Club MX’s Cole Thompson and Shane McElrath in third, clinching the SX2 Championship with a race to spare.

With no pressure in the final race, Max Anstie resumed his dominance, while Cole Thompson settled into second, and the in-form Luke Clout third. Anstie remained unchallenged, stretching his lead, and rounding out a victorious night while officially pencilling his name on the 2023 SX2 World Champion Trophy.

VIEW: All Race Results

Wsx 2023 Championship Results Sx2 Web

With 19 points separating the top four, the WSX championship was for the taking, with a bevvy of riders putting in series best performances at Marvel Stadium.

MCR’s Mitchell Oldenburg, Team GSM’s Gregory Aranda and Rick Ware Racing’s Colt Nichols all had strong showings but the night was dominated by Ken Roczen, current championship leader Joey Savatgy, with Fire Power Honda’s Dean Wilson and MCR’s Vince Friese also persistently in the mix.

Ultimately Ken Roczen’s starts, speed through the whoops, ability to negotiate a pack was the difference going 1-1-3 and securing points from all three races to lock in his second, back-to-back, WSX World Championship title. Joey Savatgy placed second, while Dean Wilson secured a third in the overall WSX championship title.

VIEW: All Race Results

WSX 2023 Championship Results WSX


View all news
Wsx Tv Device Mockup 2